Daily Archives: October 7, 2009

Matlow to run for city council

Trustee Josh Matlow will seek St. Paul’s council seat in 2010
He’s running in ward 22 held by veteran councillor Michael Walker
Walker hasn’t decided if he will retire or run again
By Kris Scheuer
(Written Oct. 7 for Town Crier.)

School trustee Josh Matlow is running for council in St. Paul's ward 22.

Public school trustee Josh Matlow wants to make the political leap to city hall.
In a sit-down interview with the Town Crier yesterday, the outspoken trustee confirmed he will run for council in St. Paul’s Ward 22.
“I intend to ask for my community’s support to run for council in 2010,” he said at a coffee shop near Yonge and Eglinton. “I intend to register on Jan. 4.”
Matlow said he wants to foster greater consensus at city hall.
“I see city hall far too polarized between the right and left,” said Matlow, who was first elected to the school board in 2003. “I have always looked for solutions rather than blame others.
“I challenged the board when I felt it was incumbent to do so, but I have also reached out with colleagues to get motions passed,” he said. “Over 80 to 90 percent of all my motions I have ever brought to the board have found support.”
Current Ward 22 rep Michael Walker plans to make a decision on whether he will seek re-election in the spring, he said Oct. 6.

A longer story based on my interviews with Matlow, Sue-Ann Levy and Michael Visser is coming. So is a separate story based on my Oct. 6 sit-down interview with councillor Walker.